About City

Nassau is the political capital and the commercial hub of The Bahamas. It is located on the island of New Providence. It has grown from a quiet port with 8,000 inhabitants in 1844 to a bustling city, and is home to over half of the country’s population today.

Nassau was originally known as Charlestown. It was laid out and renamed Nassau in 1695 by Nicholas Trott, the most successful Proprietor Governor, in honour of the Prince of Orange-Nassau who became William III of England. Because of its harbour,
New Providence was singled out as the most suitable seat of government.

Explore the City

The City Maps