County Tipperary

About City

Tipperary, in Ireland’s province of Munster, is a landlocked rural county that’s home to mountains, rivers, lakes and farmland. The medieval and Celtic collection of ruins at the Rock of Cashel have sweeping pastoral views. Cahir Castle is an imposing 12th-century fortress sitting on an island in the River Suir. Tipperary’s county town, Clonmel, is in the south, and is a gateway for exploring the region.

County towns: Nenagh / Clonmel
Population: 159,553 (2016)
Telephone area codes: 0504, 0505, 052, 062, 067 (primarily)
Points of interest: Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle, Glen of Aherlow, MORE
Did you know: Tipperary is the sixth-largest Irish county by area (4,305 km²).

Explore the City

The City Maps